Australian Capital Territory

  • Home
  • Australian Capital Territory

Canberra, the nation’s capital city, is located in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), a federal territory of Australia. Southeast of Australia’s continent, New South Wales encircles the ACT.

The National Gallery of Australia, the Australian War Memorial, and the Parliament House are just a few of Canberra’s notable landmarks. Canberra was explicitly designed to serve as Australia’s capital and is renowned for its contemporary architecture, carefully considered layout, and impressive landmarks. Lake Burley Griffin and the neighbouring Brindabella Range are only a few examples of the city’s many parks and natural attractions.

Around 435,000 people live in the ACT, which has 2,358 square kilometres. The area’s economy is varied, comprising sectors like public administration, education, health care, and research. The Australian government is the major employer in the ACT, with several federal departments and organisations situated in Canberra.

The ACT is dedicated to decreasing its carbon footprint and advancing renewable energy sources, and it prioritises sustainability. The territory has also implemented various programmes encouraging social inclusion and aiding the community’s most vulnerable.

The ACT has a cool, temperate climate with chilly winters and moderate summers. However, the area is well recognised for its distinctive seasonal changes, including brilliant autumnal foliage and winter snowfalls.

The Ngunnawal people, who have inhabited the area for tens of thousands of years, are the traditional proprietors of the land in the ACT. Due to the ACT’s rich Indigenous heritage, there are continuous attempts to acknowledge and respect the cultural value of the land and to foster a better awareness of and inclusion of Indigenous viewpoints.

Places to Visit in Canberra

Discover other States & Territories in Australia



Sign in

Send Message

My favorites